Welcome to USA Water Polo's Membership Management System!

Category: General  
Topic: Masters
response - goal throws/defensive turnovers
 
Message Date: 5/20/2014 9:19:32 AM
Author: Todd Hayes
Subject: response - goal throws/defensive turnovers
Message Body:
Phil,

The rule about the turnover is when it's a shot. So, if a pass is tipped out of bounds or the ball goes out of bounds last touched by a defender not on a shot, the ball goes back to the offense.

If a shot is tipped out of bounds by anyone other than the goalie, it's a turnover/goal throw. Shot or pass tipped out by the goalie, ball stays with the offense.

Todd Hayes
Former Referee